Natural Resources

 

FISH AND WILDLIFE

buck bison

The Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate will protect, conserve and manage fish and wildlife related resources within the exterior boundaries of the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation for the benefit of the members of the Tribe.
The Fish and Wildlife program conducts various wildlife surveys to determine population trends of waterfowl, upland, and big game to determine population trends, as well as aerial surveys. We also keep Tribal waters stocked and keep them from being over populated with rough fish, Walleye and Perch are trapped and relocated from rearing ponds to bigger lakes.

Manager – Charlene Miller:

P.O. Box 509, Agency Village, SD 57262

Hours:

Monday – Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm

Phone:

605.698.8353

Fax:

605.698.3981

Contact Information:
Program Manager – Charlene Miller:

Ext. 8209
Email:  charlenem@swo-nsn.gov

Tribal Ranger – Brett Price:

Ext. 8314  Cell Phone: (605)419-1015
Email:  BPrice@swo-nsn.gov

Tribal Ranger – Keith DeCouteau
Ext. 8314 Cell Phone: (605)956-0212
Email: KDeCoteau@swo-nsn.gov

Ag. Technician – Wayne Heminger
Ext. 8386
Email: WHeminger@swo-nsn.gov

Biologist Tech. – Lana Rencountre:

Ext. 8381
Email: LanaR@swo-nsn.gov

Wildlife Biologist – Ryan Hill

Ext. 8428 Cell:605-419-2365
Email: RHill@swo-nsn.gov

Secretary – Lona Miller:

Ext. 8208
Email: LonaM@swo-nsn.gov

Admin Asst. – Paula Renville:

Ext. 6638
Email: PaulaR@swo-nsn.gov

Buffalo Farm Management – Karena Miller:
Ext. 8210
Email: KarenaM@swo-nsn.gov

All license’s are available at Dakota Connection Casino located off I-29 Sisseton exit, Oshays Casino in Waubay, SD or Fish & Wildlife Office in Agency Village, SD. Except all big game tags must be purchased at the Fish & Wildlife Office.

NOTICE: A 4% Tribal Tax will be assessed to all Non member license sales. Excluding the surcharge.

 

Below are links to pertinent information:

2018 SWO Handbook
FISHING HOOK AND LINE LIMIT 2019
2018 MUZZLELOADER REGULATIONS
2018 Rifle Deer Regulations
Application Release Dates 2018
 2018 ARCHERY DEER REGULATIONS
2018 YOUTH DEER RIFLE REGULATIONS
2018 FALL TURKEY REGULATIONS

 

Applications available for download

Tribal Member Rifle App. 2018
Muzzleloader App 2018
Rifle Application 2018 – SOLD OUT
Archery Application 2018
Youth Deer App. 2018
Fall Turkey App. 2018docx

To purchase licenses or submit hunter reports online:

SWO Online License Program