Natural Resources

 

FISH AND WILDLIFE

buck bison

The Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate will protect, conserve and manage fish and wildlife related resources within the exterior boundaries of the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation for the benefit of the members of the Tribe.
The Fish and Wildlife program conducts various wildlife surveys to determine population trends of waterfowl, upland, and big game to determine population trends, as well as aerial surveys. We also keep Tribal waters stocked and keep them from being over populated with rough fish, Walleye and Perch are trapped and relocated from rearing ponds to bigger lakes.

Manager – Charlene Miller:

P.O. Box 509, Agency Village, SD 57262

Hours:

Monday – Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm

Phone:

605.698.8353

Fax:

605.698.3981

Contact Information:
Program Manager – Charlene Miller:

Ext. 8209  charlenem@swo-nsn.gov

Tribal Ranger – Travis Herrick:

Ext. 8381  Cell Phone: (605)956-0212 travish@swo-nsn.gov

Biologist – Sean Core:

Ext. 8428    Cell (605) 419-1010    SCore@swo-nsn.gov

Secretary – Lona Miller:

Ext. 8208   LonaM@swo-nsn.gov

Admin Asst. – Paula Renville:

Ext. 6638 PaulaR@swo-nsn.gov

Buffalo Farm Management – Karena Miller:
Ext. 8210   KarenaM@swo-nsn.gov

All license’s are available at Dakota Connection Casino located off I-29 Sisseton exit, Oshays Casino in Waubay, SD or Fish & Wildlife Office in Agency Village, SD. Except all big game tags must be purchased at the Fish & Wildlife Office.

NOTICE: A 4% Tribal Tax will be assessed to all Non member license sales. Excluding the surcharge.

 

Below are links to pertinent information:

2017 Hunting Handbook
Application Release Dates 2017
2017 Spring Turkey Fact Sheet
2017 FISHING HOOK AND LINE LIMITS

Applications available for download

2017 Sp Turkey Application
Archery Application 2017
Waterfowl Application 2017
Youth Deer App. 2017
Fall Turkey App. 2017docx
Rifle Application 2017
Muzzleloader App 2017
Tribal Member Rifle App 2017

To purchase licenses or submit hunter reports online:

SWO Online License Program