Planning Department




SWO Planning and Economic Development Office:

P.O. Box 509, Agency Village, SD 57262






Tribal Administration Building – Quadrant A, 12554 BIA HWY 711, Agency Village, SD 57262

Purpose: The Planning Office fosters reservation-wide strategic planning with tribal economic development, infrastructure systems development, and dedication of available resources for livability projects regarding community housing, roads, and tribal services.

The SWO Planning Department staff members are:
Ella Robertson:

Planning  and Economic Director


Economic Development Planner – Responsible for researching and proposing potential economic development projects on the Lake Traverse Reservation.


Community Planner – Responsible for grant writing, transportation planning, and community projects planning.

Hazen LaMere:

Tribal Energy Office Specialist – Focus on energy development projects.


Office Manager

The SWO Tribal Chairman has supervisory authority of the Planning Director. Planning has a governing body called the Reservation Planning Commission (RPC) which includes an elected member from each of the seven districts. The RPC Chairman is the Tribal Council ex-officio serving as Tribal Council Liaison.
Project concepts, feasibility studies, costs, business plans, grant applications and priorities are presented as recommendations to Tribal Council approval,  funding allocations,  and necessary authorities for implementation.
The Tribal Executives administer tribal programs and the 10 member Tribal Council (7 Districts Council people and 3 Executives) legislate, budget, and represent the tribal membership.