
 

 

2016 SWO SPRING TURKEY FACT SHEET 

   
Season Dates:   4/9/16-5/22/16 
 

Shooting Hours: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset. 

  
License Fees: Tribal Members:    $10.00 (1 Tag Permit) + 4% Tribal Tax (Exempt)   + $5.00 (Surcharge) = $15.00 

  Indian Non Member: $45.00 (1 Tag Permit) + 4% Tribal Tax (1.80)        + $5.00 (Surcharge) = $51.80 

  Non Indian: $95.00 (1 Tag Permit) + 4% Tribal Tax ($3.80)      + $5.00 (Surcharge) = $103.80 
  Affiliate of SWO: $45.00 (1 Tag Permit) + 4% Tribal Tax (1.80)        + $5.00 (Surcharge) = $51.80 

    

Bag Limit:                 One (1) male wild turkey. Turkey must have a visible beard and/or spurs. 
 

Methods:   Muzzleloader, Shotgun or Archery may be used.  

 
Hunter Orange: Hunter orange is optional. 

 

License: The License must be signed prior to hunting. License and tag may not be transferred, and the license must be in your 
possession while hunting. No person may kill a turkey for another hunter except for licensed Tribal Members who have obtained 

authorization by the SW Oyate Fish & Wildlife Dept. Licenses is valid on Trust or Tribal lands only. 

 
Tagging and Transporting: The colored tag  you receive with your package must be signed, dated and securely attached to the leg of 

the turkey at the time it is brought to a road or into any hunting camp, farmyard, residence or before it is place in or on a vehicle. 

Tagging allows a turkey to be transported or stored by the hunter or by another person for the hunter. 

 

General Restrictions: 

 

 No shooting from roost trees. 

 No electronic calls, no bait station, no use of dogs. 

 No one may wantonly waste any turkey. 

 No one may hunt within 660 feet of any occupied dwelling, school, or any public establishment or where livestock are 
present without the express written permission of owner or occupant. 

 
In the Tribal Atlas's that are available for purchase at the F&W Department private Indian owned properties are color coded in yellow 

and the Tribal owned land are color coded in red. SWO hunt/fish permits are valid on either land with the exception as follows: 

 
No person may hunt, trap or fish any land that is posted by a private individual Indian landowner of such property without express 

written consent of that individual.  If in doubt on a posted or non posted property please check with the SWO Fish & Wildlife Dept. or 

the Bureau of Indian Affairs at Sisseton Agency. 

 

Hunter Report Cards: Hunters must submit a hunter report card within thirty (30) days after the close of the season. Failure to do so 

may result in a monetary penalty assessed to your next turkey season permit purchase. 
 

No hunting allowed on Lake Traverse Reservation trust lands on the North Dakota side unless a special permit is acquired from the 

SWO Fish & Wildlife Department through a separate application process. These special permits are available on a first come basis. 
They are limited permits exclusive for North Dakota Trust lands only.  

 

Persons illegally taking, killing or possessing any species of fish or wildlife shall be liable for a civil liability to the Sisseton Wahpeton 
Oyate. 

 

If a person is convicted of violating any law or regulation pertaining to fishing, hunting, or possessing fish or wildlife without a license 
or during closed season, the court may revoke the persons hunting, trapping or fishing privileges for a period of one or more years.  

 

Hunting or fishing violations on tribal trust lands that violate Tribal Game & Fish laws may also result in a Federal violation. 
 

Federal Lacey Act. No person may transport or ship to another state wildlife taken unlawfully on the Lake Traverse Reservation. 

  
No one may refuse to permit inspection and count of game upon the request of any person authorized to enforce the game & fish laws 

of the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate.  

 
No person shall deface, mutilate, shoot at, tear, pull down or destroy any sign on the reservation.  

 

No person shall cut, run through, tear out, take down, and leave down any fence. Nor leave any gates open or in any way destroy gates 
or fences on the reservation.  

 

No person may intentionally interfere with another person lawfully engaged in taking or attempting to take game or fish. No person 
may scare or disturb game with specific intent to prevent its lawful taking. 

 

It shall be unlawful for any person to chase, drive, harass, or hunt any wildlife with or from a recreational vehicle (snowmobile, atv, 
etc.). 

 

REPORTING A VIOLATION CONTACT:  

SWO FISH & WILDLIFE DEPT. (605) 698-8353 --- Protect Our Wildlife (tips line) (605) 698-8413 

Or SISSETON WAHPETON LAW ENFORCEMENT      (605) 698-7661 

 


